Once upon a time…

Once upon a time…I believed in fairy tales and happy ever afters.

I believed in Prince Charming and glass slippers.

Now, I know the truth. There is no such thing.

I used to believe in fairy godmothers, and kisses breaking spells.

I dreamed of a man to whisk me away and treat me like a princess.

Now, I know better. It’s not gonna happen.

I used to believe that frogs could turn into princes, and

That mermaids really existed.

Now, I know it was all a fantasy.

There is no such thing as magic or dreams coming true.

I used to believe in magic mirrors, and talking mice too.

Now, I know it was foolish hopes.

You see – I thought Prince Charming existed.

Turns out it was all a lie.

I used to believe that pumpkins turned into carriages,

And Never, Never Land was just around the corner.

Now, I know better. Hearts break, and dreams die.

I used to believe that a monster could really be a prince in disguise,

And that genies lived in oil lamps. I used to believe in love too.

Now I know better. They are stories spun for children.

So I am shelving the fairy tales and leaving my “Once upon a time” behind.

About martini2138

I am 25 years old. I am a self diagnosed book addict. I read everything and anything from romance to thrillers to historical fiction to memoirs. I feel like reading feeds my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Once upon a time…

  1. Jack(y) says:

    Wow! Beautiful!

    Society and the media definitely romanticizes love and relationships. Plus, mainly, all of those fairytales are aimed at women. Girls. That’s why lots of us grow up and expect/want these things. (So sad!)

    And while I don’t think being a romantic is wrong, it is good to know the truth.

    (I hope I didn’t say anything extraneous… :/)

  2. martini2138 says:

    Thanks, glad you liked it. They are all mainly directed at girls and it teaches us to set unrealistic standards. Just my take on things – kinda pessimistic right now since I’m going through a breakup but there is some truth to it. LOL.

  3. Jack(y) says:

    Aw, hope you feel better soon. 🙂

Leave a comment