Curling up with some classics

A friend and I have decided to challenge ourselves to read or reread several classics in the next year. I love the classics and escaping to different time periods.  I remember how much I dreaded some of the classics in English and now find myself reading them for pleasure. LOL. If anyone has any recommendations to add to my short list, I am eager for feedback. Thanks!

Read:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I love all of her books but this is my favorite)

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorn

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Currently Reading

I have just started Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.

Wanting to Read:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Frankenstein by Mary Shelly

Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

My Antonia by Willa Cather

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

1984 by George Orwell

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Beowulf

Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

About martini2138

I am 25 years old. I am a self diagnosed book addict. I read everything and anything from romance to thrillers to historical fiction to memoirs. I feel like reading feeds my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Curling up with some classics

  1. najstar125 says:

    I too, love the classics. I would add Lolita and the Great Gatsby to your list, if you have not already read them. Also, Jane Eyre. I preferred Jane Eyre to Wuthering Heights myself, actually. Anna Karenina is also on my book list to read. Great post!

  2. Jack(y) says:

    Nice blog! I’m also obssesed with books. Although, I must admit that I haven’t read many of the classics. (The only one from this list that I’ve read thus far is 1984.) Like I’ve heard so many wonderful things about To Kill A Mockingbird, and then I read it, but it just didn’t compel me. (I know, how horrible!) Here’s another classic for you: Catcher in the Rye. You’ve probably read it, but I didn’t see it in the list…

    Have you read The Hunger Games? I feel obliged to recommend it, since it’s my favorite series of books. I cannot stop raving about it, and it’s extremely surreal how the third and last book of the series will be released on Tuesday. You must read it, it’s incredible. 🙂

    • martini2138 says:

      I love a lot of the classics – they provide me with a great escape, although some classics just dont hit the spot. I loved To Kill A Mockingbird – it’s one of my comfort books and I reread it every year but I dont know if I could explain why I love it so much. I tried to read Catcher in the Rye and I couldnt make myself finish it. To each their own; I have found that some books dont appeal to me but when I go back and try again I love them – could depend on where I am in my life.
      I have not read the Hunger Games. I will have to check them out. I am always looking for new books. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a comment