My love affair…with books

 I have had a lifelong love affair with books – all kinds of books, from memoirs, biographies, historical fiction, and romance to classics.  I can’t recall not reading.  I remember Dr. Seuss, Nancy Drew, Margaret Thatcher, Clive Cussler, Jane Austen, Harper Lee and countless others.  I remember Sunday afternoons, curling up on the couch nearest the fireplace, with my nose stuck in a book, while my Father watched football.  Reading was and still is my escape – it can provide with adventure or solace.  Books have provided me with knowledge and comfort.  I have a tendency to relate current going ons in my life to stories I’ve read.  I’ve noticed that when I’m feeling a bit homesick, I turn to the books that remind me of home – the Harry Potter books my brothers and I read together, or To Kill a Mockingbird (which I own at least 4 copies of).  I’ve found that when I go through a really bad breakup, I pick up Wuthering Heights (misery loves company?). I love opening up a new book and delving into a new story, but I also love rereading old ones.  I feel like I learn something new even when I’m rereading.  I hate coming to the end of a book; sometimes I feel as though I have lost a friend. Do any of you find yourselves reaching for “comfort” books, and if so which ones?

About martini2138

I am 25 years old. I am a self diagnosed book addict. I read everything and anything from romance to thrillers to historical fiction to memoirs. I feel like reading feeds my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My love affair…with books

  1. BourbonBird says:

    I have just finished To Kill A Mockingbird for the umpteenth time, still as brilliant as ever! I have to say that I read according to my mood, so I have many unfinished books in my personal library. Hmmm. When I feel like I am stuck in a rut (existentially, spiritually, philosophically or otherwise), I read.

    I collect classics and collectibles, things that have been long out of print. Any spare afternoon free and you will most likely find me in the back of a second-hand bookstore. Lately, I have started collecting Ruth Park and Darcy Niland, two brilliant authors in their own right who hail from New Zealand and Australia respectively.

    • martini2138 says:

      I am not sure what it is about To Kill a Mockingbird but I love it. I havent looked much at the second hand bookstores, I may have to find one and check it out. What genre are Ruth Park and Darcy Niland? I am always on the lookout for new authors and I love Australia (Nothing against New Zealand, just havent been.)

  2. BourbonBird says:

    Ruth Park and Darcy Niland have written predominantly fiction novels and short-stories. Ruth Parks autobiography, A Fence Around The Cuckoo, covers her life as a red-headed child in New Zealand during the Depression. I cant begin to put into words how eloquently and quirky her story and words are, shes an inspiration and absolutely unlike any other author Ive ever read. The Harp In The South and Poor Mans Orange are her biggest hits.

    For me, To Kill A Mockingbird was a most gentle tale of injustice, personal growth and hope. The only other book to hit me as hard to the point where Ive considered it in my day-to-day would be Animal Farm. Another brilliant book.

  3. Love this blog, thank you for it

Leave a comment